Home » Reviews » Movies » Movie Review: Constantine

Movie Review: Constantine

I know this is an oldie.. but I still love this movie.

Why? I love watching Rachel Weisz.. see my review for Oz the Great and Powerful. I love Tilda Swinton and Djimon Hounsou. And despite the fact that many people don’t give him credit as a good actor this was a good role for Keanu Reeves.

Granted, I don’t know anything about the graphic novel.. never read it, I might like it if I did.. but I do enjoy watching good vs evil, God vs Devil movies.

And the version of Hell in this movie is much more realistic than any other version of Hell I’ve seen in any other movie.

And Peter Stormare’s Satan was just the icing on the cake.

I loved Constantine’s flippant answers.. I’m drawn to sarcasm like a cat to tuna.

There are quite a few memorable quotes in the movie here are a few of my favorites:

“Heaven and hell are right here, behind every wall, every window, the world behind the world. And we’re smack in the middle.”

You’re handed this precious gift, right? Each one of you granted redemption from the Creator – murderers, rapists, molesters – all of you just have to repent, and God takes you into His bosom. In all the worlds and all the universe, no other creature can make such a boast, save man. It’s not fair.”

“If sweet, sweet God loves you so, then I will make you worthy of His love. But it’s only in the face of horror that you truly find your nobler selves – and you can be so noble. So … I will bring you pain. I will bring you horror.”

“I guess there’s a plan for all of us. I had to die … twice … just to figure that out. Like the book says, he works his work in a mysterious ways. Some people like it … some people don’t.”
“Angels and Demons cant cross over onto our plane. So, instead we get what I call half-breeds. The influence peddlers.They can only whisper in our ears. But a single word can give you courage, or turn your favorite pleasure into your worst nightmare.Those with the demons touch like those part angel, living alongside us. They call it the balance. I call it hypocritical bullshit.”

Noteable performance: The complaining sidekick.. you may recognize him.. that’s right it’s Shia LeBeouf you know from Transformers.

I think the movie appeals to me because of the whole God vs Devil thing.. I like watching Devil’s Advocate, Bedazzled and a few other movies like that for that reason.  But I like Constantine’s concept of there being an influence, people that are good or evil. They can either save or kill. I think everyone has that potential its whether or not they choose to use it.

Leave a Reply

