Home » Uncategorized » Movie Reviews: Oz the Great & Powerful

Movie Reviews: Oz the Great & Powerful

 

I admit I didn’t see it when it was out in the theaters so I decided to rent it at Redbox. It would have been worth watching when it was just released.

It is much darker than the Wizard of Oz, but I really enjoyed it.

I love watching Rachel Weisz, so this movie was quite a treat. I’ve seen her in The Mummy series, The Constant Gardener, Constantine and the Shape of Things. I love her acting. This was a great role for her.

Mila Kunis was wonderful too.

Is it wrong of me to have liked the wicked witches performances and liked them better than the good witch?  I mean Glinda was nice, but the real awesome effects came from the wicked witches until Oz decided to show himself.

I think I have found the source of my dislike for monkeys.. those flying baboons were pretty creepy.

I hope I’m not the first person to make the comparison of Mila Kunis’ Theodora to a sweet innocent young girl who gets betrayed by a guy who shows interest in her and turns into a man hating woman.. what? That’s what I got from it.. how else do you go from sweet and innocent to green with jealousy and wicked?

There were some minor characters that had some stand out performances… Tony Cox, Zach Braff, Joey King & Bill Cobbs.

I loved the beginning of the movie how it was in black & white and then went to color. Disney did a fantastic job with sticking to the original in this sense. The special effects were used with appropriate and sparingly. I am curious to know how they managed to create a china doll.

This is what a movie should do – hold the audiences attention, captivate them and entertainment them. Make them believe.

Check out other reviews of the movie (caution there may be spoilers!)

http://www.mormonmovieguy.com/2013/03/in-theaters-oz-great-and-powerful.html

http://thenappans.blogspot.com/2013/03/oz-great-and-powerful.html

 

For those interested in the costumes

http://www.vanityfair.com/online/oscars/2013/03/michelle-williams-costume-oz-photos

 

General Info:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oz_the_Great_and_Powerful

4 thoughts on “Movie Reviews: Oz the Great & Powerful

  1. The monkey that Zach Braff voiced was the best part of the movie imo, if you don’t count the beautiful graphics. The storyline wasn’t bad though, and I really enjoyed the movie.

  2. A thought: instead of renting, you can get movies for free from your local library. You can get series of tv shows (Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones etc) and released-to-dvd movies if you don’t mind waiting a couple of weeks while they move the video to your local library for you to pick up, and they have tons available for you to choose already on the shelf at the local branch.

  3. Pingback: Oz The Great and Powerful | The Movie Report

Leave a Reply

