Home » Life » Weekend Adventures

Weekend Adventures

new weekend logo

=^.^=

I decided to change the logo to a more fun look.

I have to give props to the other half for an awesome birthday surprise..
He made it while I was at work… and it’s a wonderful surprise.. a white cake with icing and sprinkles ūüôā

Oh and I had to share my wonderful breakfast.. it was an egg and cheese burrito and a donut leftover from Saturday’s disney trip. Nom!

And in speaking of the awesomeness that is food.. I have to share the wonderful chicken I made on Tuesday…

It started out as 6 chicken thighs in sweet baby ray’s chiptole bbq sauce with some water to help assist with the cooking…

After about twenty minutes I cut the meat up to make sure all of it was cooked throughly and let it cook for about twenty more minutes

I made some grilled bbq beans (for this I used Bush’s but I’m sure regular baked beans would work just as well as I added some of the sauce used on the chicken to the beans so that the flavors don’t clash.

Here was my share of it..

And here is what was left after I took my share. Since the other half is scared of chicken in any other form other than chicken strips, I shared with a co-worker.

I am all about the freebies.. and thanks to Yahoo.. there’s a small list of published freebies available.. and I’m starting where I normally start.. with food.

(Taken from http://shopping.yahoo.com/articles/yshoppingarticles/665/fabulous-freebies/)

Free Food

Your favorite snack shop or fast food restaurant may have an annual freebie day. Mark your calendar for free IHOP pancakes and Rita’s Italian ice in March; free¬†Ben & Jerry’s ice cream, Pretzelmaker pretzels,¬†Cinnabon treats¬†andStarbucks coffee¬†in April; free¬†Haagen-Dazs ice cream¬†in May; a free¬†Krispy Kreme doughnut¬†and TCBY frozen yogurt in June; and a free Chick-Fil-A meal in July — to name a few.

You can also sign up to score free food on your birthday from¬†Famous Dave’s BBQ, Cold Stone Creamery, Denny’s and other eateries. Search the Web for “birthday freebies,” or call your local restaurants to ask whether they offer such a deal.

And for those of us who are food junkies… (if you’re reading this article you are =^.^=)

Free Diet & Fitness Help

Need help sticking to a diet and exercise plan? At Fatsecret.com, MyFitnessPal.com and SparkPeople.com, you can craft meal plans and count calories, put together a fitness plan and track your progress, and get support and advice from other users.

Some employers offer free diet and¬†fitness¬†help to their employees. After all, it’s in their best interest that you stay healthy and show up for work. These programs may include free gym access, weight-loss support groups and smoking cessation programs. Some will even pay you for your progress. Ask if your workplace has a wellness plan in place.

Disney’s Hollywood Studios

Okay now that I’m done giving advice and such.. I want to give my review on Disney’s Hollywood Studios. ūüôā

1st and foremost I have got to say the Tower of Terror is a blast.. ‚̧

and since yours truly is on the bigger side.. (let’s say I’m horizontally gifted) my other half did some research and found that the trick is to pull the seat belt out and then sit down. And that makes a world of difference. I was a bit worried about the Tower of Terror since I get motion sick, but riding it for the first time was awesome. We rode it a second time while waiting for the fast passes for Rock n¬†Roller-coaster.

As for the¬†roller-coaster.. I can’t say much for it.. I kept my eyes closed for most of it.. if I wasn’t screaming my ears were taking a beating from the shoulder straps…but the other have had a great time and was hooting and hollering.

** I would like to add that my second attempt at riding rocking roller coaster was a blast, I kept my eyes open and  actually enjoyed it.. so thank you to those who suggested I try it again. **

(the other half said I was scared out of my mind.. just because i was holding onto the shoulder handles and had my eyes closed and mouth open does not mean i was scared… i might have screamed a few times.. but that’s it.. :p)

The Great Movie ride  was pretty neat.. our tour guide was Dillon who apparently liked his job very much as he was bopping around to the music and reminded me a lot of the guy from Not another Teen Movie (see below, right)

I think the end of the ride was the best because I got to see clips of some of the movies I had seen before and some of the ones I hadn’t. Sure it was cheesy and nearly¬†predictable, but it was a movie ride at¬†Disney.. and it was in a/c (which in August is a blessing).

Star Tours was interesting.. it was 3D and it was in a moving pod room thing… we sat in the front so naturally I¬†received¬†the up-close and personal experience. ¬†Not sure if I was shaken more times than I was on Space Mountain, but it certainly lasted longer. We got up close and personal with Darth Vader, get hit, crashed landed and ended up safely back. ¬†It was interesting, I would advise anyone with motion sickness not to go as it¬†threatened¬†to bother me.

The other half really liked it.. and found a set of legos he wanted.

The true highlight of the tip was finally determining that the other half is “Sully-sized” and in visiting Hollywood Studios lo and behold what did we see?

A mini-Sully.

who can resist that look?

there he was striking a pose on the dashboard of the car during lunch.

There’s no way you can even be mad around something like that.

‚̧

That was truly the highlight of the trip.. oh and the hotel tour of the¬†Polynesian Resort¬†and missing out on the torrential rain this time.. (unlike last time where the Magic Kingdom’s train ride turned into an unexpected water ride).

Also I wanted to share the awesome morning sun pictures I took on the way there..

(I loved the way the clouds were shaped, I think this was due to Irene being in the Atlantic..)

The sun attempting to peek over the clouds

(there was an 18 wheeler in front of us, but this was pretty cool)

We returned to Disney on the 31st for me to try Rocking Rollercoaster again, which I now approve of.. and do the Tower of Terror.. *grins from ear to ear*

Here are some pictures from that trip

the famous hat in Hollywood Studios (formerly known as MGM)

Malificent from Sleeping Beauty in a store window at Hollywood Studios

the greatest invention *ever*… a bubble blowing machine.. this was outside of the Rocking roller coaster…one of the cast members was using it and I had to take a picture.. I sooooo want one of these, it would be great for work.

the parade that went by, I missed Sully by a few seconds, but he was dancing around and they were singing “I don’t wanna work, I just wanna play all day”..

(I know it’s sideways, I couldn’t get it to rotate right so you could see the entire costume.)

We rode the backlot ride where we got to walk by props from movies, watch a set in action and then see some costumes.. and darth vader’s costume was there.

Along with the White Queen from Chronicles of Narnia,

Alien from Alien and a few other villians.

oh and before I forget I got to see the awesomeness that is the organ in Pirates of the Caribbiean..Captain Davy Jones.. (see below)

We went to Epcot and discovered a few rides such as The Circle of Life and Living with the Land. The first of which featured Timon & Pumba from the Lion King, which was a great little video about the environment. Living with the Land talked about how technology helped us find new ways to get a better yield out of plants and be environmentally conscious. ¬†It’s a boat tour that goes through the different environments, what people have done and then opens up into a greenhouse filled with various plants, then fish and then more plants.

the beginning sign as it opens up into the greenhouse

very bright plants.. i forgot the name of them..

(sunflowers grown in special pods)

bananas.. they were so cute and tiny

a sturgeon that is farmed raised..

cucumbers that grow in the air..

lettuce grown in little pods

each plant generally has a sign in front of it to tell you what it is and that as you can tell is not a habanero pepper.. i was a little too fast with the camera.

but after that tour they tell you about the behind the seeds tour which is available to go into the labs and see how things are done… the tour had been cancelled for that day, but I did ask a cast member and they told me it starts at 10:30-4:30 and is $18 per person and an intern does the tours and while on the tour you get to sample some of the food grown in the lab and help plant trees.

He stated there is a sign up sheet in the morning near the Living with the Land ride exit and it never gets packed.

For more info on it click here

The other half and I intend to go on this tour.. and I’ll be sure to take the camera.

While the other half was riding star Tours.. I got snuck in some Stitch pics..

stitch as the emperor and pete as darth vader

stich as yoda and goofy as chewy

yours truly mickey-fied midday on the 31st.

Oh and the beautiful clouds on the way home..

Oh and while we were looking up information on the water parks, the other half mentioned something about River Country, which I had never heard of. Apparently it was a water park that was built in 1976 and shut down in 2001.

I found an awesome site with plenty of pictures (because I like pictures) on what it looks like today for those that may or may not remember it.

(Taken from http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=2344523)

Journal Prompt 21: What is your most favorite quote? A quote that inspires you, or your mantra. I literally have 4 journals from college filled with quotes that inspire me and make me smile. Today is the day to share your inspiring words with your friends

“Today I will be happier than a bird with a french fry”

“Minds are like parachutes, they only function when open”¬†Lord Thomas Robert Dewar

“Imagination is more important than knowledge” Albert Einstein

“Neo, sooner or later you’re going to realize just as I did that there’s a difference between knowing the path and walking the path” Morpheus from the Matrix

“So do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.” Gandalf from Lord of the Rings Fellowship of the Ring

“He’s good. I can tell.” ~ Lilo when commenting about Stitch in Lilo & Stitch

“Desserts!” Lilo form Lilo & Stitch

“Fish are friends, not food.” Bruce from Finding Nemo

“Here there Mr. Grumpy Gills. ¬†When life gets you down do you wanna know what you’ve gotta do?¬†Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming. What do we do? We swim, swim.” Dory from Finding Nemo

” I can’t afford any more delays and you’re one of those fish that causes delays.¬†Sometimes it’s a good thing. There’s a whole group of fish . They’re delay fish. ” Marlin from Finding Nemo

:”I shall call him Squishy and he shall be mine and he shall be my Squishy. Come on, Squishy Come on, little Squishy.
[baby talk, the jellyfish stings her]¬†Ow. Bad Squishy, bad Squishy. ” Dory from Finding Nemo

“Bubbles. Bubbles. My bubbles. ” Bubbles from Finding Nemo

 

Journal Prompt 22: Today I want to know what your favorite holiday is!! There are soooo many holidays out there and the cool thing is that they differ depending on where you live, your family, and your religion. Teach me all about your favorite holiday and why it’s your favorite 

Halloween is my favorite holiday.. as it’s the one time a year you can dress up (unless you’re a comic con fan) and scary people silly or do silly things like bobbing for apples and such.

It’s a shame it’s not longer than just one day and I love watching some of the movies that are shown on tv during that time as it’s a chance to remember halloween’s past and make this one better. ūüôā

2 thoughts on “Weekend Adventures

Leave a Reply

