Home » Life » Weekend Adventures (cheesecake, bubbletea & more!)

Weekend Adventures (cheesecake, bubbletea & more!)

=^.^=

Good Morning.. I know it’s Saturday.. I wanted to change things up a bit and do the weekend adventures on a Saturday.. 🙂

I really enjoy having such creative people surrounding me… today’s topic is (as usual) food.. but the difference today is that I wanted to share a delicious mini cheesecake recipe linked to one of my favorite food related blogs and wanted to share a bubble tea recipe from a wonderful photographer friend Melissa. First the evil goodness that is …

(Taken from http://mykitchenapron.blogspot.com/2011/07/paula-deens-peanut-butter-cheesecake.html)

Paula Deen’s Peanut Butter Cheesecake Minis
  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 4 TBSP sugar
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter, melted
  • 12 bite-size peanut butter cups
  • 2 (8-oz) packages cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 2 eggs
  1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Place a paper cupcake liner in each cup of a standard muffin pan.
  2. In a bowl, combine graham cracker crumbs, sugar, and melted butter until crumbs are moistened.
  3. Press crust into bottom of each muffin cup.
  4. Put 1 peanut butter cup into the center of each crust.
  5. Beat cream cheese with handheld electric mixer until fluffy.
  6. Add sugar, flour, and almond extract, beating well.
  7. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.
  8. Spoon cream cheese mixture over peanut butter cups and graham cracker crusts.
  9. Bake until just set, about 20 minutes.
  10. Allow to cool completely before serving.

*drools* I cannot wait to make these for the holidays.. I am seriously wanting to change it and put a strawberry in the middle or something, what do ya’ll think?

Anyways.. now that my arteries are clogging.. let’s have something a bit less fattening..bubble tea..

(http://whatscookingamerica.net/BubbleTea.htm)

Classic Bubble Tea Recipe - How To Make Bubble Tea

Recipe
Yields: 1 (16-ounce) drink

Prep time: 5 min

Cook time: 30 min
(Tapioca Pearls Cooking Ingredients:

1/2 cup chilled, cooked large tapioca pearls (if substituting smaller tapioca, use 1/3 cup)*
1 cup crushed ice
1 cup very strong chilled black tea (or orange pekoe tea or Lichee tea)
1 cup milk, or to taste
Honey or sugar to taste

* See How To Cook Tapioca Pearls below.

Preparation:

Place the pearls in a large parfait glass. Combine all remaining ingredients in a cocktail shaker, 
and shake vigorously until the mixture is frothy.

Pour into the glass, and serve with extra-thick straws.

Yields one (16-ounce) drink.

How To Cook Tapioca Pearls:

6 to 8 cups water (the ration is a minimum 7:1 water to tapioca pearls)
1 cup tapioca pearls

In a large pot (Make sure the pot is big enough so boiling tapioca water will not spill over) over high heat, 
add water and bring to a boil.

Slowly stir in the tapioca pearls so that they do not stick together (after 1 minute, the tapioca pearls should float). 
Reduce heat to medium and let boil, covered, for approximately 15 minutes; turn the heat off and let the tapioca pearls
 site, covered, for an additional 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, remove from heat, rinse the tapioca pearls in cold 
water, and drain.

NOTE: The cooking time above is a general guideline. If you shorten the cooking time, you will get chewier tapioca ball
s. Cook longer and you will get less elastic tapioca balls.

Add the cooked tapioca pearl to your favorite Bubble Tea recipe.
Turn the heat off and let Bubble Tea Supply tapioca sit in the water for 15 minutes.
Rinse the cooked tapioca pearls in warm water and drain out the water.
Cover with bubble tea sugar syrup or brown sugar and serve.
Note: This is for those that want to make Bubble Tea at home and don't want to wait an hour. What I do is boil the 
tapioca pearls for 15 minutes and let it sit for 15 minutes. I rinse the tapioca pearls and then place in a gallon zip 
loc bag flat. Store in the freezer flat. When I get the urge, I boil a cup of water and put a piece of the frozen 
tapioca pearls in for about 2-3 minutes. Rinse, cover in sugar syrup and serve. It usually lasts a few days before it 
gets too mushy. Enjoy!
--

Also before I completely forgot.. and I’m liable to..

I saw this adorable link for bento boxes (while we’re on asian things..)

http://bentozen.wordpress.com/

(I don’t know where she finds the time to make this, but it is so cute and creative )

And on a more personal note.. I’ve broken my relationship with chocolate.. at least for the time being.. I love it, but I really need to switch to frozen yogurt and fruit or something..

Also, I’m testing out life without being addicted to plastic.. by that I mean my debit card.. it’s weird to pay in cash wherever I go, but it lessens the chance of someone trying to steal my identity and also helps me keep better track of the money I do have and keeps me out of trouble.

So I will be updating on the next few blogs how things are going with that.. but I wanted to just have it out there and put the pressure on myself to really focus on using cash and not the plastic.

=^.^=

--

Journal Prompt 15: Today I would like you to brainstorm some goals for the upcoming month. A short list of goals that will be attainable to accomplish in one month.

Goal 1 -Start walking … I’ve been extremely lazy and my poor body has had to suffer for it.. I want to walk at least 4 days a week.

Goal 2 – Clean up my office, it’s been a mess pretty much since I moved it.. I want to get it organized and get thing looking neat

Goal 3 – Get the garage organized, it’s partially there.. but needs more work

Goal 4 – Get a place for my bamboo plants that’s out of the cats reach but still in a memorable spot

Goal 5 – get 5 projects together for the holidays (yes, I know it’s early, but I’m pretty bad about getting holiday things done)

Journal Prompt 16: Short, sweet, and straight to the point :) What are you wearing today? Write it, doodle it, cut it out of a magazine, whatever!

One thought on “Weekend Adventures (cheesecake, bubbletea & more!)

Leave a Reply

