Home » Life » Weekend Adventures

Weekend Adventures

=^.^=

Welcome to another wonderful edition of Weekend Adventures.. this time I’m covering one of my favorite topics..well other than cats.. it’s Food!

Since I’ve been living in Holiday for a little while, I wanted to cover a few of the places I’ve eaten at and give some honest reviews..

As most of you know.. I have a thing for food, I love trying out new places and such.. and in the past I have included some food reviews.. here are some so far. My other half and I decided to combine our eating prowess and do some restaurant comparison and food reviews.

T.G.I Friday’s vs Chili’s vs Applebee’s

First off these are all brass and palm places.. they all have brass decorations (or did at one point) and have fake plants of some sort.. I heard this term nearly ten years ago and Ruby Tuesday’s used to be in this category but they have since changed their style and food and are a bit more higher class, but are still presenting their food on square and rectangular plates. But for today’s comparison it’s just going to be the three mentioned above.

Chili’s

T.G.I. Friday’s

3 for $12.99 menu – great value and good food, very consistent. I normally get the cheddar & broccoli soup and the entrée and I highly recommend the cheesecake. The Oreo ice cream sandwich is good, but the cheesecake is truly worth every calorie… along with every fat gram.. nom!

Perkin’s vs Denny’s

I had never been to a Perkin’s before visiting the Tampa area and as the other half explained it’s like a higher class Denny’s  and in truth it is. Save for the fact they have a bakery.. *squee!*

Chicken Strip Dinner – generic chicken strip dinner and generic fries, the other half doesn’t like the hand breaded kind. He doesn’t like chicken to begin with but he tolerates chicken strips.  A classic dinner entrée at most restaurants, for those that aren’t adventurous food wise.

Ham & Cheese Omelette with breakfast potatoes & a strawberry muffin – Though I love their eggs Benedict at Perkins, the hollandaise sauce is a heart attack waiting to happen and since I am attempting to watch what I’m eating and cut down on the fats and unnecessary fatty things.  Hollandaise sauce is on that list, if you want to know what’s in it, check it out.

I don’t need two english muffins much less all the fat that is in that delicious sauce.

So I opted for the omelette, and I was surprised to find that it was  not greasy, the omelet was thin and light and the ham and cheese was the right amount.

Though I shouldn’t have had the breakfast potatoes.. they were good.. I did split the strawberry muffin with my other half.

* the strawberry muffins are a seasonal thing, and I highly recommend having one *

I can also recommend the creamy chicken pasta, which has tomatoes, asparagus, chicken.. oh it is delicious. and for once it looks like the picture.. no lie.

Cody’s Roadhouse vs Logan’s Roadhouse

Logan’s & Cody’s both offer rolls with their food along with roast peanuts where you throw the shells on the ground. But the difference is that Cody’s has an awesome house salad which is better than any other house salad I’ve had at any other place.

Cody’s Roadhouse –

14 oz NY Strip garlic mashed potatoes with white gravy and french fries – he said it was better than Logan’s Steakhouse

the half Rotisserie chicken was great, juicy and wonderful. the salad is really what I was there for as they make an awesome house salad with garlic ranch dressing.. lettuce, tomato and pepperoncini and I am proud to say I did not touch a single roll but I should have asked for light dressing on the salad as it normally swims in dressing and I know ranch is full of all kinds of fats

Bob Evan’s (chain)

For those that haven’t been to a Bob Evan’s it’s a higher class IHOP.

Chicken, Mushroom, Spinach & cheese.. and for those that want to know that’s mayo on the fries.. and the fries are unsalted!!

I’ve also had the Bacon Chicken Sandwich.. and it was goood *drools*

The Lucky Dill (local)

This restaurant is locally owned and operated located off of Highway 19, it is a New York Style restaurant

(pictured above is the other half’s monster burger)

Havana Cubana

a delicious pressed cuban sandwich with chips and pasta salad, not a fan of the salad, but the chips and the chips and cuban were great

Family Holiday Restaurant (local)

This restaurant is locally owned and operated, located off of Highway 19 in Holiday, Florida. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner and also have a selection of desserts. Since it is Greek owned, you will find Gyros and a few other Greek flavors.

Cuban

Not as good as the Lucky Dill,  but not bad.

Sweet Tomatoes (chain)

If you love salad and all the fixings, this is the place for you, it’s a huge salad buffet place, there are a few pre-made salads (of which I recommend the broccoli salad), rolls, sliced bread, muffins and fat free frozen yogurt desserts as well as some fruit and mousse.

It can be a bit pricey.. it’s about $9 per person, I would recommend going to their website and signing up for the coupons via email, print them up and make it a treat.

Prompt 5 & 6

Journal Prompt Number 5: 
We are all obviously bloggers right, or else you wouldn’t be here 🙂 Even if you don’t have a blog, I know that you read them. 
This page is dedicated to your favorite blogs!! What are they? Are there any blogs that you can’t go a day without checking?

I don’t have blogs I like to check but I’m addicted to checking certain websites – girls with slingshots (really great web comic), I love Gronk (new ones every friday), I do check Facebook and my email as I like staying connected and finding out what the animal rescue sites I’ve liked are up to and share some of the more interesting stories.  The email I check for obvious reasons.. work related, personal and for my business.  That’s about all I check. I don’t read blogs very often if at all.
Journal Prompt Number 6: 
It’s time… 
It’s definitely time to do something. It may be a new season for you in your life, or a time to make some goals, or it may just be time to relax (because it’s Saturday right?). 
Draw something that represents the word time and then make a list of things that you need to do at this time in your life, or day, or week 🙂 

Hmm.. time..  this one is a bit harder.  Again with the drawing…. *sighs*

I’m skipping the drawing stuff.. if you want to see me draw I will draw, otherwise.. I write. 🙂

As for my goals at this particular time.. which to me would be within the next year or so..

Get published.. seriously I would love to see a printed copy of either my short stories or one of my poetry collections in print..  (if anyone can help with this goal, please let me know)

getting involved with the local humane society – donating, volunteering, etc. I have some classes to take before I can officially volunteer and such.

Key West.. I want to see key west so badly I can’t stand it.

That’s about it right now… hope you had a great weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

