Home » Uncategorized » Close Encounters of the Snake Kind

Close Encounters of the Snake Kind

=^.^=

My first unofficial post!  *does happy dance*

I wanted to talk about this before I forgot.. I did some yard work today.. the front walk way was covered in leaves and weeds and branches, so i swept at first, then raked the leaves to a large 3′ or so pile at the end of the walkway.. and as I was doing so my wonderful lovely boyfriend spotted this:

It’s the Eastern smooth Earth Snake.. he was about that size and all I saw was the latter part of him which to me looked like a large earth worm.. so I had to look it up and see what it was… and other things about it.

Snakes don’t scare me, I’ve held them in science class in middle school and I love looking at them in zoos or any other controlled environment. Oddly enough I don’t have much if any experience with them outside of that.

Here is some information I found in regards to them..

(Taken from  http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/herpetology/fl-guide/Virginiavvaleriae.htm )

Description: Adults average 7-13 inches (18-33 cm). The record is 15.38 inches (39 cm). A small brown or reddish brown snake with a plain white or yellowish belly. May have tiny dark flecks on back, either scattered or in 4 rows. The head is small with a somewhat pointed snout. There are 15 dorsal scale rows at midbody. The scales are smooth, though faint keels may be present near the tail. Also, tiny faint lines on some scales may give the appearance of keels. The pupils are round.

Range: The Eastern Smooth Earth Snake occurs occurs north of the Suwannee River and in the panhandle. A disjunct population occurs in Highlands County in central Florida. Outside of Florida, it occurs north to New Jersey and west to Alabama, northeastern Mississippi, and Ohio.

Habitat: Found in the leaf litter and under logs in mesic hammocks and pine woodlands, particularly near marshes and other damp areas. The disjunct southern Florida population also occurs in scrub.

Comments: HARMLESS (Non-Venomous). The Eastern Smooth Earth Snake feeds primarily on earthworms, but takes other small invertebrates such as insects and snails. It spends most of the time underground, but found at the surface most often in the cooler months. It bears live young. Litters of 7-10 young are born in summer. They are 3-4.5 inches (7.6-11 cm) at birth.


So my first encounter with a snake in my own front yard as my boyfriend wishing to move back to the city and me being fascinated enough to hunt the poor little frightened snake down and look at it. But no such luck.. when i raked the rest of the leaves off the walk way he was no where to be found. 😦

Oh well, there’s always tomorrow when I have to pick up branches and rake the rest of the yard.. =D

Author’s Note: After reviewing the online pictures of snakes, worms and everything in between, I’m still on completely convinced it wasn’t a large earth worm though, because all I saw was his tapered tail wiggling away under the leaves.

Leave a Reply

